Minimum engine RPM for ignition

Discuss which Sensors work best with these ECUs and share how you are using inputs and outputs
harlequin22
ECU Model: S40 Pro

Minimum engine RPM for ignition

Post by harlequin22 »

Hello everybody!
I am new in DTA. Short intro: My name is Toni from Köln (or Cologne), Germany. I build a S40 Pro in my US '77 VW T2 and made the flywheel a 24 - 1 incriment flywheel. The DTA shall work as a substitude for the original controler. Now i am having a problem with the ignition. With the sparking plugs mounted off i get a RPM of around 230 - even if I jumpstart it. I am not sure if this is a normal cranking RPM. But with the sparking plugs mounted it even drops further to probably just below 200. I am not sure because the map shows 0. even if i just put in one sparking plug. The flywheel spins a little slower and no more output of rpm. It looks like the sensor or the ECU can't sense rpm's below 200. Or is this a configuration problem? And because the rpm shows zero there is no ignition. No ignition - no running engine - problem... :-(
I know there are a lot of you having DTA's installed in older cars? Anybody had the same or similar problems? Thanks for any support!
Greetings from Köln
Toni
Roverdose
ECU Model: S80 Pro
Distributor: Roverdose

Re: Minimum engine RPM for ignition

Post by Roverdose »

so you see rpm in the dta software with the plugs out, but not with the plugs in?

sensor/wiring problem for me. possibly getting interference?

Drew
stevieturbo
ECU Model: No ECU

Post by stevieturbo »

Havent most problems like this before been a lack of battery supply when cranking ?

Post a scope trace of the signal when cranking, with plugs in and out. And also monitor voltage at the ecu when cranking.
harlequin22

Post by harlequin22 »

Thanks for the quick answers!

@Steve