Autoshifting on the S80 Pro

This section is dedicated to discussion of DTA engine control units such as the DTA E48 EXP, P8 Pro, DTA S40, S60, S80, and S100, as well as all things ECU related.
dominics
ECU Model: S80 Pro

Autoshifting on the S80 Pro

Post by dominics »

Hello All,

I am new to the DTA S80 and this website as well. I am the electrical team leader for the racing club at my university, and i do not know that much about the DTA so im trying my best to learn all i can.

But to the point now, many members on my team recommended i look into autoshifting, which would be a great help to us during competition especially when racing endurance. I am here looking for any tips or advice people may have on how to accomplish this, or what ways would be the best to go about doing this.

****Upshift only*****

If you also have any other helpful tips feel free to share.

Thank you.
Last edited by dominics on Sun Sep 09, 2012 4:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
lumley32
Firmware Version: 61

Re: Autoshifting on the S80 Pro

Post by lumley32 »

what do you mean by Autoshifting?

fully auto or just 100% throttle up changes?

button shift or still using a lever?

what gearbox are you using?
stevieturbo
ECU Model: No ECU

Post by stevieturbo »

I can see where you might want an auto-upshift on a drag car.

but no way would I want ecu controlled up and downshifts on a car that goes around corners or has to accelerate and decelerate.
That's getting into very complicated territory as far as making it work, work safely, and work efficiently.

I guess though in it's most basic format. Use an rpm switch to force both up changes and down changes.
But there really should be more variables to consider before changing gear.
dominics

Post by dominics »

stevieturbo wrote:I can see where you might want an auto-upshift on a drag car.

but no way would I want ecu controlled up and downshifts on a car that goes around corners or has to accelerate and decelerate.