San Jose State's 2017 FSAE Car

Document your project with images, pictures, etc., and share with others.
moy
ECU Model: S80 Pro
Firmware Version: 63

San Jose State's 2017 FSAE Car

Post by moy »

I wanted to share the Formula SAE car I have been working on for the past 9 months for San Jose State University's team.

The engine is a 675cc 2013 Triumph Street Triple. We are using an S100 for engine control and to control our pneumatic shifting. We are also using an STC to control our Bosch electronic throttle body.

If you want to follow us or learn more about it check out our website and social media pages:

http://www.sjsuformulasae.com/
https://www.facebook.com/SpartanRacingSJSU/
https://www.instagram.com/sjsuformulasae/
Attachments
SR9_4.jpg
SR9_3.JPG
SR9_2.JPG
SR9_1.JPG
ignitionautosport

Re: San Jose State's 2017 FSAE Car

Post by ignitionautosport »

Very, very cool.
| '94 GSR Lancer | '96 Toyota Carib 20V | '83 Toyota Starlet | www.ignitionautosport.co.nz |
katana
ECU Model: S60 Pro
Firmware Version: 29

Post by katana »

Neat project but i'm really not liking the wings front or rear! Aren't these cars artificially strangled by regulations so power is capped and wasting what you have on massive drag inducers seems counter productive?
moy

Post by moy »

katana wrote:Neat project but i'm really not liking the wings front or rear! Aren't these cars artificially strangled by regulations so power is capped and wasting what you have on massive drag inducers seems counter productive?
Can't comment on the aesthetics, you either like it or you don't. It took me a while to get used to seeing these things with wings too.

The one thing you can't argue with is the performance benefit the giant wings provide on the autocross track. It is a night-and-day, "why didn't we do this before?" type of thing. It does add drag, but at the speeds we see (under 120 km/h) the drag penalty is well worth it.