S40 idle control valve

Wiring best practices and loom building technique
slam-jam@live.co.uk
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2021 9:20 am
ECU Model: S40 Pro

S40 idle control valve

Post by slam-jam@live.co.uk »

Hi, I have the s40 pro, want to put a bosch 2pind icv in to pin 9 on the plug but it already has injection 2, what do I need to do to wire it in please?
Rob Stevens
Posts: 1163
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 4:10 am
ECU Model: S100 Pro
Distributor: None-Coil On Plug :)

Re: S40 idle control valve

Post by Rob Stevens »

If you are using injector 2 output already for injectors you will have to move them to Injectors 1, subject to the current limitations. If you are using staged injectors on Injectors 2 you can't use the idle control. (unless you give up the 2nd bank of injectors)
I find the idle by ignition works fine if you set it right.
If you can't be bothered to open the throttle a little when it's very cold use an idle valve on one of the Aux outputs to open when the engine is cold to aid cold start, then have it close once the engine is up to say 50 deg.
slam-jam@live.co.uk
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2021 9:20 am
ECU Model: S40 Pro

Re: S40 idle control valve

Post by slam-jam@live.co.uk »

Thanks for the reply, I'll give it ago on one of the aux outputs and see how it goes
slam-jam@live.co.uk
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2021 9:20 am
ECU Model: S40 Pro

Re: S40 idle control valve

Post by slam-jam@live.co.uk »

Hi mate is there a way of running the icv of the aux 5?
Rob Stevens
Posts: 1163
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 4:10 am
ECU Model: S100 Pro
Distributor: None-Coil On Plug :)

Re: S40 idle control valve

Post by Rob Stevens »

Yes, like this below but it will just be an on-off, not full control of your idle , but if you use the idle by ignition also should work fine. But you need a good hot idle at around 4deg BTDC for this to work well.
Screenshot 2021-11-12 115811.png
Screenshot 2021-11-12 120239.png
slam-jam@live.co.uk
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2021 9:20 am
ECU Model: S40 Pro

Re: S40 idle control valve

Post by slam-jam@live.co.uk »

OK dude thanks for your help I'll give it ago the weekend
Cheers man
slam-jam@live.co.uk
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2021 9:20 am
ECU Model: S40 Pro

Re: S40 idle control valve

Post by slam-jam@live.co.uk »

Hi mate tried that the weekend but didn't work, I have now moved injection 2 to injection 1 but now only running on 2 cylinders, is there a setting I need to change to run "batched" injection?
Cheers
stevieturbo
Posts: 3306
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 12:08 pm
ECU Model: No ECU
Location: Norn Iron

Re: S40 idle control valve

Post by stevieturbo »

S40 can only run batch injection. It cannot do anything else.
Alex DTA
Posts: 1518
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 1:03 pm
ECU Model: S40 Pro
Distributor: DTA
Firmware Version: 79

Re: S40 idle control valve

Post by Alex DTA »

stevieturbo wrote: Fri Nov 26, 2021 5:01 pm S40 can only run batch injection. It cannot do anything else.
No.
It can run both batch (all 4 injectors on output), and "semi-sequential" (seems to be the accepted term) which is one pair of injectors on one output, and the second pair on the other output.
The first configuration allows injector 2 to be used for idle, or twin injectors.
Rob Stevens
Posts: 1163
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 4:10 am
ECU Model: S100 Pro
Distributor: None-Coil On Plug :)

Re: S40 idle control valve

Post by Rob Stevens »

So you have moved all injectors to output 1 (pin 8) and now runs on 2 cylinders?
Pin 9 should now be available for idle valve
I suspect you have not done this correctly.
Post Reply