It is currently Tue Jun 25, 2019 6:36 pm



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: BMW S62 M5 V8 question regarding S100 unit
PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2016 3:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2016 5:51 am
Posts: 21
ECU Model: S100 Pro
Will the DTA S100 unit run the M5 s62 engine including the vanos units? If so, does anyone have a base tune.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BMW S62 M5 V8 question regarding S100 unit
PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2016 2:41 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 1:03 pm
Posts: 1229
ECU Model: S40 Pro
Distributor: DTA
Firmware Version: 79
S62 has old style VANOS, and 4 variable camshafts, so requires eight cam outputs. We only have 4, meaning we can't control that engine. It's also a V10, so would require 28 outputs just for cams, coils and injectors! :lol:

If you can run without the VANOS, then it's pretty straightforward.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BMW S62 M5 V8 question regarding S100 unit
PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2016 4:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 1:39 pm
Posts: 118
ECU Model: S40 Pro
Firmware Version: 58
alex i google s62 engine and its v8...i dont know if still can run it with s100 but its v8


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BMW S62 M5 V8 question regarding S100 unit
PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2016 5:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 1:03 pm
Posts: 1229
ECU Model: S40 Pro
Distributor: DTA
Firmware Version: 79
You're right, I had in my mind it was a V10. So it only needs 26 outputs then!! :lol:

The VANOS is still not possible, but everything else is.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BMW S62 M5 V8 question regarding S100 unit
PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2016 8:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2016 5:51 am
Posts: 21
ECU Model: S100 Pro
Alex,
a follow-up question. If the s100 will not do the older S62 engine and the vanos, will it run the newer S65 V8 with the vanos functional?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BMW S62 M5 V8 question regarding S100 unit
PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2016 9:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 1:03 pm
Posts: 1229
ECU Model: S40 Pro
Distributor: DTA
Firmware Version: 79
Yes. The S65 has the new style VANOS, so only one output required per cam.
I posted a couple of full maps up for them with VANOS working.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BMW S62 M5 V8 question regarding S100 unit
PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2016 11:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2016 5:51 am
Posts: 21
ECU Model: S100 Pro
Hi Alex,
Do you know of any plans for DTA to produce a new unit that will have enough outputs to run the S85 and its vanos units.
Ralph


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BMW S62 M5 V8 question regarding S100 unit
PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2016 1:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 1:03 pm
Posts: 1229
ECU Model: S40 Pro
Distributor: DTA
Firmware Version: 79
Plans are forming, but there won't be a new ECU for a couple of years yet.
Software first, then GDI, then new ECUs.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BMW S62 M5 V8 question regarding S100 unit
PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2016 3:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 12:08 pm
Posts: 2983
Location: Norn Iron
ECU Model: No ECU
Whilst it's nice to have everything in a single box...ultimately it adds cost.

Expansion modules are a cost effective way of adding functionality to existing ecu's....much like the STC.

Would that be an option for both GDI and controlling complicated engines with multiples items like DBW blades and VVT on all cams ?

Obviously base ecu would need to have ability to communicate with such devices though.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Theme designed by stylerbb.net © 2008
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
All times are UTC - 5 hours