can bad battry cause map to change on next stratup?????

Give input on tuning as well as any tips and tricks you may have. Also feel free to share base mapping files for various engine types.

can bad battry cause map to change on next stratup?????

Postby Andreas Norway » Mon Aug 08, 2016 2:46 pm

Hi all.
I feel silly but have tried almost everything so now I ask you all for help.
After I have entered all parameters and updated ECU and locked map. so next time I'll start up so it often happens that map columns turns into a wild value ..
Hope someone can explain to me what is happening from I stop motor and strater it again.
I thought this could be sensor distance against flywheel.

greatly appreciate help with this.
Regards Andreas.
Attachments
things change 2.jpg
2
tihing change.jpg
1
Living life sideways
Andreas Norway
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 8:01 am
Location: Norway
ECU Model: S60 Pro
Distributor: Kl racing

Re: can bad battry cause map to change on next stratup?????

Postby Rob Stevens » Mon Aug 08, 2016 3:00 pm

Allan once told me this could happen, just somehow a bug, but I find it hard to believe it did it to 2 settings.
For the launch rpm one this could be because you have it set to set launch rpm when button first pressed. But I know the figure should not be accepted as its outside the allowable window.

For the rpm in the ignition does this figure appear in all associated maps and the set rpm columns setting?

A mystery indeed, just put it back how it should be.
Rob Stevens
 
Posts: 938
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 4:10 am
ECU Model: S100 Pro
Distributor: None-Coil On Plug :)

Re: can bad battry cause map to change on next stratup?????

Postby Andreas Norway » Mon Aug 08, 2016 3:20 pm

thanks for reply.
yes it changes both the fuel and ignition and map columns option.
everything is put back as it was all times but occurs mostly every time I start up the next day.
really annoying problem so hope this can be resolved with a little help / suggestions from you on this forum.
Living life sideways
Andreas Norway
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 8:01 am
Location: Norway
ECU Model: S60 Pro
Distributor: Kl racing

Re: can bad battry cause map to change on next stratup?????

Postby Rob Stevens » Mon Aug 08, 2016 3:45 pm

Oh, this is very bad.
Are you locking the ecu on exit?

Could be some sort of electrical spike?

Hope Alex can help.
Rob Stevens
 
Posts: 938
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 4:10 am
ECU Model: S100 Pro
Distributor: None-Coil On Plug :)

Re: can bad battry cause map to change on next stratup?????

Postby stevieturbo » Mon Aug 08, 2016 5:25 pm

I'd guess it's more likely a USB adaptor causing comms issues ? Or does this happen with no laptop connected ?
stevieturbo
 
Posts: 3014
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 12:08 pm
Location: Norn Iron
ECU Model: No ECU

Re: can bad battry cause map to change on next stratup?????

Postby PhillipM » Mon Aug 08, 2016 6:19 pm

I used to have something similar once where it would deselect two-stroke mode - be running fine one day then drop out the next, took it up to alan and he changed something either in the firmware IIRC, can't remember for the life of me what though!
PhillipM
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 5:30 am
ECU Model: S80 Pro
Distributor: DTA UK
Firmware Version: 73

Re: can bad battry cause map to change on next stratup?????

Postby ignitionautosport » Mon Aug 08, 2016 11:54 pm

Running latest firmware and software? I would not expect ECU to turn on at 5.4V, but Alex may correct me. I'd be testing voltages when cranking, at battery, at starter, at ECU, etc to find out why it might be logging that (if it actually is that low and not a random number...).
| '94 GSR Lancer | '96 Toyota Carib 20V | '83 Toyota Starlet | www.ignitionautosport.co.nz |
User avatar
ignitionautosport
 
Posts: 573
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 5:30 am
Location: New Zealand
ECU Model: S80 Pro

Re: can bad battry cause map to change on next stratup?????

Postby rxboxster » Tue Aug 09, 2016 3:25 am

maybe check you have good earths all round? ecu, battery, chassis, starter etc?
rxboxster
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 3:17 am
ECU Model: S80 Pro

Re: can bad battry cause map to change on next stratup?????

Postby Andreas Norway » Tue Aug 09, 2016 3:43 am

Rob Stevens wrote:Oh, this is very bad.
Are you locking the ecu on exit?

Could be some sort of electrical spike?

Hope Alex can help.


Yes lock map every time
Living life sideways
Andreas Norway
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 8:01 am
Location: Norway
ECU Model: S60 Pro
Distributor: Kl racing

Re: can bad battry cause map to change on next stratup?????

Postby Andreas Norway » Tue Aug 09, 2016 3:47 am

stevieturbo wrote:I'd guess it's more likely a USB adaptor causing comms issues ? Or does this happen with no laptop connected ?


This happens whitout laptop on..
Locking the map after corecting it an the car runs 100% fine after but the next startup something might change not everytime but sometimes
Living life sideways
Andreas Norway
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 8:01 am
Location: Norway
ECU Model: S60 Pro
Distributor: Kl racing

Next

Return to Tuning -- Tips and Tricks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests

cron