Shielded wire pinout

Discuss which Sensors work best with these ECUs and share how you are using inputs and outputs
sterlingM
ECU Model: S60 Pro

Shielded wire pinout

Post by sterlingM »

I've searched and read and would like to clarify on how to connect shielded cable for the crank or cam sensors. I'll mention this is my first time doing this sort of work although I'm fairly competent, bit of a learning curve with a standalone EMS harness. This is all for an S60pro

My cam sensor has 3 wires. Signal, ground, shielded ground (I think). This is going on a BMW S14 motor and using a BMW cam sensor from an S38B38 motor (e34 m5) and is a common cam sensor to use and is magnetic.

At the cam sensor plug housing: pin 1 --> signal, pin2 --> ground, pin 3 --> round and wire shield together
At the EMS plug: pin1 --> pin 22, pin 2 and pin3 and the shield from the cable are all spliced into pin 21 along with the ground and shield from my crank sensor.

Please help me confirm I've connected at the EMS side correctly or help me correct what I've done wrong. I already have the EMS powered up and speaking to my laptop, these are the final connections required (I hope) so that i can start calibrating crank and cam sensors later this week and get this to the tuner soon.

Thanks
SterlingM
katana
Firmware Version: 29

Re: Shielded wire pinout

Post by katana »

I'm no expert but inductive / mag sensors are usually two wire, Hall effect are usually three wire - are you sure its inductive?
DTA manual / wire loom diagram states the shield is left unattached at sensor end and connected to sensor ground at case only -
this applies for inductive or Hall type sensors.
sterlingM

Post by sterlingM »

Hi Katana,

Thanks for the response. The research I've done is that it's a magnetic sensor and the spinning part it senses is magnetic as well. I read that it is typically confusing because most mag sensors are two wire but the third wire in this case is for the shield.