S60Pro not connecting to laptop

This section is dedicated to discussion of DTA engine control units such as the DTA E48 EXP, P8 Pro, DTA S40, S60, S80, and S100, as well as all things ECU related.
stevieturbo
Posts: 3361
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 12:08 pm
ECU Model: No ECU
Location: Norn Iron

Re: S60Pro not connecting to laptop

Post by stevieturbo »

VWBug wrote: Fri Jun 17, 2022 1:37 pm The ECU has been working fine for years.

The only thing I can think of is that I tried to update the firmware a year-ish ago. The update failed, I think maybe the flash software stopped replying? But then again, the engine ran fine the other day..
If the engine ran fine....then the ecu was obviously alive at that point.

It would seem very unlikely the ecu just died sitting there whilst doing nothing. Whether whatever was done was deliberate or accidental...something was done to kill it ( if it is dead )

Could be a bad jump start, crossed leads, perhaps some welding on the vehicle ( although I've welded on cars before without unplugging the ecu without harm ) etc etc

But if you follow the basic tests asked...that will yield info.

And you also have not stated when asked, what lead and method of connection to the ecu are you using ? And have you done something odd like left the flash switch "on" on the lead if it is present ?
Is the comms lead always connected to the ecu when you are trying to get it running ?
VWBug
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu May 26, 2022 4:07 pm
ECU Model: S60 Pro

Re: S60Pro not connecting to laptop

Post by VWBug »

Couple of posts in, computer with RS232 port. Tested both DTA flashing cable, and a non-flashing RS232 cable.

I have the habit of leaving the comms lead in the car. Might be that the flash button has been pushed in while trying to get it connected, but not deliberate.

Only thing I haven’t tested is 5V to the sensors I think? Might have missed a test?

No welding, nothing unusual. Was charging the battery.
VWBug
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu May 26, 2022 4:07 pm
ECU Model: S60 Pro

Re: S60Pro not connecting to laptop

Post by VWBug »

There is 5V on the TPS when turning on the chassis power and ECU.

I’ll fill out a returns form and ship it to England
stevieturbo
Posts: 3361
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 12:08 pm
ECU Model: No ECU
Location: Norn Iron

Re: S60Pro not connecting to laptop

Post by stevieturbo »

So the ecu is alive to some degree.

With a dedicated RS232 port that is best option and should be simple and configured on COM1 as all native ports are I believe. And of course as long as the flashing switch is off during power up.

Again, test the ecu fuel pump trigger output with a small or led test light between the output and 12v.

It does seem very strange though.

One thing has not been asked...during cranking, do you get any spark or signal to fuel injectors ?
VWBug
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu May 26, 2022 4:07 pm
ECU Model: S60 Pro

Re: S60Pro not connecting to laptop

Post by VWBug »

I haven’t tested spark. If I can’t connect to the laptop, it’s pretty much useless in drag racing :D

I drove last night to the shop and pulled the ECU, bubble wrapped it and sent it to DTA just now.

If they can get I going it’s great! If not, I found a replacement box, never used with new wiring loom for a good price.
stevieturbo
Posts: 3361
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 12:08 pm
ECU Model: No ECU
Location: Norn Iron

Re: S60Pro not connecting to laptop

Post by stevieturbo »

True, but it would give you an idea if it is the ecu, or a comms problem.

Although using direct RS232 is usually pretty solid and just works.
VWBug
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu May 26, 2022 4:07 pm
ECU Model: S60 Pro

Re: S60Pro not connecting to laptop

Post by VWBug »

I have tried both the flash cable, a normal comms cable and installing software again on the computer. I think the ECU somehow misses the connection protocol?
VWBug
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu May 26, 2022 4:07 pm
ECU Model: S60 Pro

Re: S60Pro not connecting to laptop

Post by VWBug »

Update;

ECU is repaired.

“it appeared the firmware files had been wiped”.

I’m just glad it’s fixed!
Rob Stevens
Posts: 1200
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 4:10 am
ECU Model: S100 Pro
Distributor: None-Coil On Plug :)

Re: S60Pro not connecting to laptop

Post by Rob Stevens »

Excellent news
stevieturbo
Posts: 3361
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 12:08 pm
ECU Model: No ECU
Location: Norn Iron

Re: S60Pro not connecting to laptop

Post by stevieturbo »

So it must have happened during a failed firmware update or something ?
Post Reply